13 CUHK researchers receive NSFC Young Scientists Fund 2022 support

This year, the National Natural Science Foundation of China’s (NSFC) Young Scientists Fund is open to researchers in Hong Kong for the first time. Thirteen professors from The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) have been recognised by the NSFC Young Scientists Fund 2022. Each of the researchers will receive funding of RMB 300,000 to support their scientific research projects for three years.

CUHK’s Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Sham Mai-har said, “13 CUHK young professors have received support from the Young Scientists Fund. We are very grateful to the National Natural Science Foundation of China for providing generous funding to young scientists in Hong Kong. CUHK is determined to support our outstanding scholars as they carry out innovative research and contribute to the society.”

The 13 CUHK young scientists are Professor Dou Qi from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Professor Duan Liting from the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Professor Gu Shen from the School of Biomedical Sciences, Professor Li Jingyu from the Department of Management, Professor Liao Chenxi from the Department of Marketing, Professor Ma Xin from the Department of Mechanical and Automation Engineering, Professor Wang Wuming from the School of Biomedical Sciences, Professor Wu Jing from the Department of Decision Sciences and Managerial Economics, Professor Yan Yangqian from the Department of Physics, Professor Yan Zhenyu from the Department of Information Engineering, Professor Yang Yang from the School of Hotel and Tourism Management, Professor Zhang Jie from the Department of Chemistry, and Professor Zhang Tao from the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

The NSFC Young Scientists Fund started accepting applications from Hong Kong researchers in 2022. It supports young scholars as they carry out basic research in areas of their choice, enhancing their ability to conduct innovative projects independently and fostering the promotion of young scientists.

The press release was originally published by the Communications and Pubic Relations Office, CUHK.